November 3, 2010

Western Buddhist Teachers for a Free Burma.

This from the mighty Hozan Alan Senauke at the Clear View Project — an action that Buddhists should probably be aware of on a situation that they should definitely be aware of:

c/o Clear View Project
1933 Russell Street, Berkeley, CA 94703
[email protected] / 510.845.2215

1 November 2010

The White House
1600 Pennsylvania Ave
Washington, DC 20500

Dear President Obama,

As you know, the upcoming elections in Burma, scheduled for November 7th cannot be legitimate without participation of the National League for Democracy (NLD). The NLD is boycotting this sham process because the Burmese military regime has designed electoral laws that insure that a rigged and non-representative election will transpire precluding the participation of Burma’s 2100 political prisoners and other democracy supporters. As leaders in the western Buddhist community, we implore you to repudiate the results of this upcoming election.

We appreciate your Administration’s support for a Commission of Inquiry. We urge the U.S. government to exercise all diplomatic means to call the Burmese junta to account for allegations concerning Crimes against Humanity perpetrated against ethnic nationalities.

It is essential that the international community witness your clear and unwavering support for the freedom of the Burmese people at this pivotal time in their history.

We thank you in advance for your care and wisdom in responding to this urgent request and we look forward to your reply.

Respectfully submitted,

Jack Kornfield
Sharon Salzberg
Tara Brach
Tenzin Robert Thurman
Rev. Hozan Alan Senauke
Lama Surya Das
Bhikkhu Bodhi
Jon Kabat-Zinn
Lama Palden


Robert Joshin Althouse

Rev. Susan Myoyu Anderson

Sally Armstrong

Carolyn Atkinson

Pascal Auclair

Martin Aylward

Rev. Zentatsu Richard Baker

Ezra Bayda

Mitra Bishop

Melissa Blacker

Bruce Seiryo Blackman

Joe Bobrow

Dae Bong Sunim

Tilmann Lhundrup Borghardt

Merle Boyd

Irene Bumbacher

Mitchell Cantor

Eugene Cash

Ven. David Chutiko

John Crook


Gaylon Ferguson

James Ford

Gil Fronsdal

John M. Gage

Michael Grady

Elizabeth Hamilton

Rev. Zenkei Blanche Hartman

Kip Ryodo Hawley

Taigen Henderson

Joan Hoeberichts

Amy Hollowell

Paul Jeffrey Hopkins

Zen Master Soeng Hyang

Mushim Ikeda-Nash

Rev. Keido Les Kaye

Sumi Kim

Liana Kornfield

Rev. Taigen Dan Leighton

Stanley Lombardo

Berry Magid

John Makransky

Genjo Marinello

Rev. Nicolee Jikyo McMahon

Rev. Wendy Egyoku Nakau

Ariya Nani

Ethan Nichtern

Wesley Nisker

Rev. Tonen O’Connor

Rev. Enkyo O’Hara

Peter O’Hearn

Rev. Joen Snyder O’Neal

Michael O’Sullivan

Ji Hyang Padma

Rev. Tony Patchell

Rev. Josho Pat Phelan

Rev. Dosho Port

Rev. Susan Jion Postal

Rev. Taihaku Priest

Dr. Christopher Queen

Jason Quinn

Rev. Densho Quintero

Sylvan Genko Rainwater

Rev. Zuiko Redding

Caitriona Reed

Julie Regan

Alison Reitz

Nicholas Ribush

Joan Rieck

Sharda Rogell

Judith Roitman

Sandra Roscoe

Rev. Daigaku Rumme


Rev. Seisen Saunders

Katharina Schmidt

Gina Sharpe

Tulku Sherdor

Jason Siff

Elihu Genmyo Smith

Tempel Smith

Ralph Steele

Abbot Myogen Steve Stucky

Rev. Heng Sure


Karma Leshe Tsomo

Fred Von Allmen

Alan Wallace

Rev. Jisho Warner

Arinna Weisman

Dr. Jan Willis

Diana Winston

Elizabeth A. Wood

Larry Yang

Shinzen Young

Leave a Thoughtful Comment

Read 0 comments and reply

Top Contributors Latest

Reverend Danny Fisher  |  Contribution: 12,340