April 2, 2014

Planetary Yoga: Union in the Cosmos. ~ Pamela McDonough

space nebula

Planets usually aren’t the first thing that comes to mind when we hear the word yoga.

What we most often connect with when we hear the word yoga are the more familiar forms such as:  Bikram, Ashtanga, Kundalini, Hatha, Iyengar, Hot, Naked, Antigravity, Vinyasa, Aerial, Restorative, Gentle, Power, Jivamukti or Acroyoga, just to name a few.

But what about Planetary Yoga?

Did you know that planets do yoga too? Figuratively they do. The complex and powerful Sanskrit word yoga applies to more than just what we practice on our mats.

It might help to revisit the roots of the Sanskrit word yoga as it relates to Vedic astrology and Planetary Yoga as interpreted through our personal Vedic horoscope. Yoga is derived from the word yuj, which means to yoke. In other words, to join or create union. The union of two or more things that are linked together by an intangible, invisible force.

“Yoga exists in the world because everything is linked.”  ~ Desikasha

To understand how planets do yoga we need to look deeper into Jyotish or Vedic Astrology. In Vedic astrology the planets are either direct or retrograde and these planets, signs, and the houses link together in our horoscope creating Planetary Yoga(s).

There are countless cosmic collaborations which create a garden variety of Planetary Yoga(s) at the time of our birth. Planetary Yoga(s) create patterns that define our karma scope.

This article will also explore an important category of yogas: the Pancha Mahapurusha Yogas. The term Pancha Mahaprusha means the five (pancha), great (maha), supreme beings (purusha). Pancha Mahapurusha Yogas in our horoscope indicate and support the manifestation of success, leadership and prosperity. This type of yoga is formed by the union of specific planets in certain houses and signs within the birth chart.

The planets that can create these fabulous formations are Mars (Mangala), Mercury (Buddha), Venus (Shukra), Jupiter (Brihaspati) and Saturn (Shani).

The first criteria is that these five planets which are capable of creating Pancha Mahapurusha yogas must be placed in one of the corners, or Kendra houses of our horoscope. These cornerstones are houses one, four, seven and ten of the zodiac.

Why is it necessary that these specific planets be placed in Kendra houses? The corners are literally the powerhouses of the horoscope.

Planets in houses one, four, seven and ten exert a tremendous influence on our mind and our actions. We can think of them like keystones in a building, or four very sturdy legs of a table that supports our birth chart and drive our behaviors in this lifetime.

The tenth house is the most influential since it represents our karma: what we are known for in this lifetime, our careers. The second set of criteria is that the planet must be placed in its own sign or exaltation sign, and occupy a Kendra.

Ruchaka Yoga:

Created by Mars in it’s own signs of Aries, Scorpio or exalted in Capricorn. Ruchaka yoga creates a modern day warrior. A leader of men and women, possibly in the military or police. Very courageous with tremendous physical prowess and high personal energy. A protector of dharma is also possible with Ruchaka yoga.

Bhadra Yoga:

Mercury placed in it’s own signs of Gemini or Virgo can create a Bhadra yoga. Bhadra yoga confers intelligence, oratorical and writing skills. Excellent businessman, salesperson, marketing expert and financier. Witty and wealthy.

Hamsa Yoga:

Jupiter is placed in it’s own signs of Sagittarius, Pisces or exalted in Cancer. Wise Jupiter in Hamsa Yoga can create a spiritual or religious leader. Or an excellent teacher, philosopher and coach. Someone who does the right thing at all costs with an excellent character.

Malavya Yoga:

When Venus is in it’s own signs of Libra and Taurus and exalted in Pisces Malavya Yoga is created. Great beauty, love of luxury, fame and financial gain is very prominent with this yoga. This yoga also supports artistic abilities.

Sasha Yoga:

Saturn in Capricorn or Aquarius or exalted in Libra forms a Sasha Yoga. Excellent leadership abilities such as the CEO in a company. Extremely hardworking and disciplined.

There are other important considerations that can affect the power of these Pancha Mahapurusha yoga’s ability to manifest fully in our lives, and to determine when they will bear their fruit. These details are beyond the scope of this article.

Besides Pancha Mahapurusha yogas, other Planetary Yogas create combinations for success, leadership or wealth. And some create the possibility for physical and/or mental suffering or loss.

From the eastern perspective of Jyotish, Planetary Yoga in our horoscope is directly connected to our karmic bank balance that we carry with us into this lifetime. This is our Prarabdha (accumulated) karma, or our destiny.

Powerful ways to help lighten our karmic load can be done through the practice Yantra and mantra, yoga and an Ayurvedic lifestyle. These actions effect our Kriyamana karma which is what we are presently and actively creating through our current choices.

Ultimately, Kriyamana karma is our own free will.

“That which you call your soul or spirit is your consciousness, and that which you call ‘free will’ is your mind’s freedom to think or not, the only will you have, your only freedom, the choice that controls all the choices you make and determines your life and character.” ~ Ayn Rand

Hopefully, I have shared a taste of Planetary Yoga and how these cosmic collaborations can dramatically influence our lives.

If you are interesting in learning more about your karma scope and the various yogas that are formed in your chart, please contact me. I can show you how they affect your life experience. You can find out more information here.

Love elephant and want to go steady?

Sign up for our (curated) daily and weekly newsletters!

Editor: Renée Picard

Photo: Hubble Heritage at Flickr

Leave a Thoughtful Comment

Read 0 comments and reply

Top Contributors Latest

Pamela McDonough