True/False: McDonald’s French Fries are not Vegetarian.

Via on Oct 13, 2010

False! Wait. You said not vegetarian. They are vegetarian, right? I mean, potatoes plus grease plus heat plus plastic-packaging plus ketchup equals affordable yumminess, right? Ca-lassic!

Wrong. Er, true: McDonald’s french fries are not vegetarian. Really? According to this, really:

“McDonald’s fries are flavored with unspecified “animal products?”

About elephant journal

elephant journal is dedicated to "bringing together those working (and playing) to create enlightened society." We're about anything that helps us to live a good life that's also good for others, and our planet. >>> Founded as a print magazine in 2002, we went national in 2005 and then (because mainstream magazine distribution is wildly inefficient from an eco-responsible point of view) transitioned online in 2009. >>> elephant's been named to 30 top new media lists, and was voted #1 in the US on twitter's Shorty Awards for #green content...two years running. >>> Get involved: > Subscribe to our free Best of the Week e-newsletter. > Follow us on Twitter Fan us on Facebook. > Write: send article or query. > Advertise. > Pay for what you read, help indie journalism survive and thrive. Questions? info elephantjournal com

2,383 views

Appreciate this article? Support indie media!

(We use super-secure PayPal - but don't worry - you don't need an account with PayPal.)

3 Responses to “True/False: McDonald’s French Fries are not Vegetarian.”

  1. kfreedain says:

    True, but when looking at the ingredient listing it seems a bit vague:

    "French Fries:
    Potatoes, vegetable oil (canola oil, hydrogenated soybean oil, natural beef flavor [wheat and milk derivatives]*, citric acid [preservative]), dextrose, sodium acid
    pyrophosphate (maintain color), salt. Prepared in vegetable oil (Canola oil, corn oil, soybean oil, hydrogenated soybean oil with TBHQ and citric acid added to preserve freshness). Dimethylpolysiloxane added as an antifoaming agent.
    CONTAINS: WHEAT AND MILK *(Natural beef flavor contains hydrolyzed wheat and hydrolyzed milk as starting ingredients)."

    then, when you look up "natural beef flavor" in other products it defines what looks like a different type of "beef flavor":
    natural beef flavor [beef broth, yeast extract, maltodextrin, salt, lactic acid, natural flavor (plant source), beef fat, citric acid]

    interesting.

  2. waxbear says:

    So, they have to say milk and wheat, since those are allergens. But, saying "natural beef flavor" is pretty much enough to say it's not vegetarian.

    "Super Heavy Users". Are they being literal?

  3. iloveginger says:

    the "food" at McCruelty ..well.. check out the Happy Meal Project… http://www.flickr.com/photos/sallydavies/sets/721

Leave a Reply