The Chakras as Explained to a Child. {Video}

get elephant's newsletter

guru pathik

The American-made anime epic Avatar: The Last Airbender is one of the most profound works of conscious media ever produced.

I was introduced to this show a few years ago when babysitting for my four-year old cousin. I was captivated and spent the next several months watching from start to finish.

This cartoon series encodes deep spiritual principles into a format suitable for a child, while remaining nonetheless fascinating for us grown-up kids.

Real world martial arts are integrated into the various “bending” techniques, reincarnation is introduced as perfectly natural—and the path of the spiritual warrior is presented in an elegant, entertaining style.

Here, Guru Pathik guides Ang (the Avatar) through through the process of opening his chakras:

“You must gain balance within yourself before you can bring balance to the world.”

Obviously the process shown is extremely abbreviated, but the principles are no less valid. For example, “If you are to be a positive influence on the world, you need to forgive yourself.

In summary,

There are seven chakras that go up the body…

Be warned, opening the chakras is an intense experience, and once you begin this process, you cannot stop until all seven are opened…

ang fear

First…the Earth chakra, located at the base of the spine. It deals with survival, and is blocked by fear…

The [second] Water chakra deals with pleasure and is blocked with guilt…

Third is the Fire chakra, located in the stomach. This chakra deals with willpower, and is blocked by shame…

The fourth chakra is located in the heart. It deals with love and is blocked by grief…

The fifth in the chain is the sound chakra, located in the throat. It deals with truth, and is blocked by lies…

The sixth pool of energy is the light chakra, located in the center of the forehead. It deals with insight, and is blocked by illusion…

The thought chakra is located at the crown of the head. It deals with pure, cosmic energy, and is blocked by earthly attachment…

sound statue

This is a sublime summation, distilling ancient, divine wisdom into an accessible, easily understood format.

Here, see how the producers integrated various martial arts styles into the making of the show:

This is truly one of my favorite television programs of all time. I encourage kids of all ages to seek it out and become immersed in the world of the Avatar. Perhaps it will encourage you to recognize the true power that rests within each of us, and guide you towards wielding it effectively.

“The greatest illusion of this world is the illusion of separation. Things you think are separate and different are actually one and the same… We are all one people, but we live as if divided.”

Bonus: Guru Pathik sings.



Like elephant spirituality on Facebook.

Ed: Bryonie Wise

is a new feature on Elephant Journal—enabling you to instantly share your mindful ideas, photos, art, YouTube videos/Instagram links & writings with our 5 million readers. Try it Now.

Write Now

About David McConaghay

David McConaghay is an Ayurvedic practitioner and Vedic Astrologer based in Boulder, Colorado. A former Division 1 athlete, David discovered yoga as a means to bring ease to an overburdened body. Now certified to practice Ayurveda and Jyotish, the cutting edge of David's enthusiasm is to explore and teach the overlaps between ancient Vedic ideas and the futuristic models of physics and biology proposed by pioneers like Nassim Haramein and Dr. Bruce Lipton. In addition to extensive training (RYT-500) in the Sivananda tradition, David has a B.A. in English and Creative Writing from the George Washington University. He brings his expansive knowledge, playful spirit and precise language to conversations with students, clients and peers alike. More info is available at


15 Responses to “The Chakras as Explained to a Child. {Video}”

  1. John Cole says:

    So glad you posted this! This is my all time favorite television show, one of my favorite episodes too.

  2. […] down, I started to feel a slight fluttering, pulling sensation—our lower chakras connecting, energetically reaching out to each other. Tuning in to what was happening, I could feel […]

  3. […] It is a tool to enter a zone of yogic “sleep,” which is much deeper and more restorative than regular sleep. In this zone, we release energy and emotions trapped in the body and free channels so energy can again flow unimpeded. We re-establish our connection to the earth, develop our sense of lightness and heaviness and play a bit with gravity, space and time. We take a 61-point tour through the physical and energetic bodies and rest in, and re-tune, the energy of our main energy vortices, also known as the chakras. […]

  4. […] subjects would create tingling sensations within corresponding chakras. If I wrote about self-love and confidence, my legs and hands would start to tingle and become […]

  5. Nichole says:

    Totally rad! thanks for this! My daughter and I will begin our Avatar adventures this afternoon! cheers!

  6. Anne says:

    My 3 boys and I have watched the series multiple times. So glad to find out I'm not the only adult who loves Avatar!

  7. […] recognize the emotions. Discover them by focusing your attention to your ajna chakra—the spot right in the center of your forehead, and your heart center. Give them a nod, and invite […]

  8. Reneé Marie Fox says:

    My husband and I watch Avatar with our grandson… and by ourselves! 🙂

  9. Alexandria says:

    I watched this show when I was younger and I definitely made my husband watch the whole show on netflix last year. Now he watches Korra as well, lol.

  10. Barbara says:

    My boys used to watch this, and I was thrilled to listen to the messages woven throughout the shows! I distinctly remember the episode regarding meditation…

  11. LoLo says:

    Love this cartoon. Thinks for the reminder and for sharing this.

  12. yogi says:

    fantastic – will help when teaching chakras to my clients

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.