January 22, 2014

The 7 Deadly Sins, State By State. {Map}


How are those New Year’s resolutions coming?

Several years ago, researchers in the geography department at Kansas State University released an interesting series of state-by-state maps, featuring a spatial analysis of the seven deadly sins. These maps have been taken from theMemolition blog, which also featured the study.


(Find the rest of the sin maps here.)

The seven deadly sins—wrath, envy, gluttony, greed, lust, sloth and pride—are believed to present a deterrent to spiritual development.

The following methodology was used for data analysis:

Wrath: rate of violent crime committed per capita

Gluttony: number of fast food restaurants per capita

Greed: number of people living below the poverty line, compared to average income

Lust: Rate of STI infection, per capita

Envy: Number of thefts (robbery, larceny, auto theft) per capita

Sloth: Spending on art, recreation and entertainment compared to employment.

Pride: Because pride is the ‘root’ of all sin, this is an aggregation of all other data

Red represents a higher concentration of sin, and blue a higher concentration of saintliness.

Are you craving a quiet, cold existence? Move to the Midwest!  Are you craving excitement?  South Florida is your place, it would seem.

The results are illuminating!

Additional information on the Kansas State University study can be located here. The maps have been shared on YahooNews, Wired, Huffington Post and a number of other media outlets.  The methodology explanations have been adapted from Wired.

Love elephant and want to go steady?

Sign up for our (curated) daily and weekly newsletters!

Editor: Catherine Monkman

Photos: elephant journal archives, Memolition

Read 1 Comment and Reply

Read 1 comment and reply

Top Contributors Latest

Marthe Weyandt  |  Contribution: 7,700