Meditation ain’t about Escape. Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche.

Via on Nov 5, 2008

“The Buddha taught that to wake up from the dream of bewilderment and suffering, we first need to sit still and take a deep breath.  Peaceful abiding is that deep breath, a way to strip away the chaos of bewilderment and find some basic sanity.  But peaceful abiding is only the beginning of the spiritual journey.  Simply withdrawing into the stability of our own minds could turn meditation practice into just another way to shop for pleasure.  Instead, with this healthy sense of self we can look more deeply into the meaning of our being.  We can take meditation further by using insight, vipashyana in Sanskrit, to reflect accurately on our own experience and on the nature of existence.”  -Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche, in Turning the Mind into an Ally 

 

~ The above quote was found courtesy the below announcement.

Shambhala Online continues its series of one-hour monthly online sessions with different Shambhala acharyas. These sessions  provide an opportunity for you to have direct interaction with an acharya, to discuss questions about Shambhala, the dharma, your practice or anything else on your mind.

The next session, “Ask an Acharya about Vipashyana”, with Acharya Gaylon Ferguson, will take place on Sunday, November 9th at 3 p.m. Atlantic  (2 p.m. Eastern, 1 p.m. Central, 12 noon Mountain, 11 a.m. Pacific, 19h00 GMT, 20h00 Cologne, 21h00 Athens)

You will need a computer and high speed internet connection to join. Participating with a webcam and microphone is best, but people may simply type their comments and questions if they do not have this equipment.

Please go to Shambhala Online website for more information and to register for this online program. 

About Waylon Lewis

Waylon Lewis, founder of elephant magazine, now elephantjournal.com & host of Walk the Talk Show with Waylon Lewis, is a 1st generation American Buddhist “Dharma Brat." Voted #1 in U.S. on twitter for #green two years running, Changemaker & Eco Ambassador by Treehugger, Green Hero by Discovery’s Planet Green, Best (!) Shameless Self-Promoter at Westword's Web Awards, Prominent Buddhist by Shambhala Sun, & 100 Most Influential People in Health & Fitness 2011 by "Greatist", Waylon is a mediocre climber, lazy yogi, 365-day bicycle commuter & best friend to Redford (his rescue hound). His aim: to bring the good news re: "the mindful life" beyond the choir & to all those who didn't know they gave a care. elephantjournal.com | facebook.com/elephantjournal | twitter.com/elephantjournal | facebook.com/waylonhlewis | twitter.com/waylonlewis | Google+ For more: publisherelephantjournalcom

869 views

Appreciate this article? Support indie media!

(We use super-secure PayPal - but don't worry - you don't need an account with PayPal.)

5 Responses to “Meditation ain’t about Escape. Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche.”

  1. [...] The essays themselves are straightforward and direct, and include Buddhist authors like the Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche and Sharon Salzberg, yet the instructions and meditations themselves are [...]

  2. [...] in 1992—which the then-Sawang, now-Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche (Trungpa Rinpoche’s eldest son and my guru) led for the first time (he had leapt in, not quite yet prepared, on a virtual white [...]

  3. [...] head of Shambhala Buddhism, son of Trungpa Rinpoche and my teacher—is presently studying and practicing meditation in [...]

  4. [...] up, I studied Buddhism with Sakyong Mipham Rinpoche. I can’t tell you how many times he’d remind us that half our state of mind was [...]

  5. [...] guess that’s it: even from the height of fame and money and power and dominance—without a tamed mind, we can’t be champions of our own life. [...]

Leave a Reply