June 3, 2015

A Quickie Guide to the Chakras.


I like to think that an increasing interest in the chakra system is a positive sign of our evolving society.

That taking interest in our own health and what we can do personally do to increase our own emotional, physical, spiritual and mental well-being is a powerful development for the human race and that an understanding of the chakras will take us a long way in a healing direction.

In her book Intuitive Self Healing, Marie Manucheri explains:

“Each chakra has its own color and unique role in maintaining vitality in your body, mind, and spirit. Chakras are multi-dimensional, appearing round or cone-shaped. They form the main centers of a system that contains thousands of smaller energy points. The term chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning wheel or disk. Descriptions of the chakras first appeared in the Vedas, ancient spiritual texts dating back to 2000BC. This complex circuitry holds within it the keys to our evolution and wholeness.”

Here is a quickie guide to the seven major Chakras:

The Root Chakra

The Root Chakra is located just below the pelvis and governs our sense of survival. Some words of the Root Chakra are “I am safe” “I am alive” and “I am here.”

The Sacral Chakra

The Sacral Chakra is located just below the belly button and is our pleasure center. It governs creativity, innovation, sexuality and good old fashioned fun. While the mantra for the Root Chakra is, “I am here” the mantra for the Sacral Chakra is, “I want to be here.”

The Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra is located just below the rib cage and is responsible for our self-esteem, self-love and self-acceptance. A healthy Solar Plexus Chakra brings a sense of wholeness. However, the Solar Plexus Chakra is also our power center.

Isn’t it a beautiful thought to think that our power comes from our wholeness?

The Heart Chakra

Now of course the Heart Chakra is love, but not romantic love or individual love. Instead it is universal, infinite, global, big love.

The Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra is home to our authentic self, and of course the location for the expression of our authentic self. It is the connection between our mind and our heart. This is where we really shine.

The Crown Chakra

I think of the Crown Chakra as being the whole top of our head—kind of like the top of a hard-boiled egg. This is our place of true seeing and true knowing, the place of visionariness and daydreams and connecting with our spiritual truth. Worrying and doubt are the worst for the Crown Chakra.

The Transpersonal Chakra

The 7th Chakra or Transpersonal Chakra is above our heads and governs our connection to the divine or the Universe or God or as I like to think of it, a benevolent force greater than ourselves who has our best interests at heart. Looking for more manifestation in your life? Then look no further then the 7th Chakra.

Learning about, healing and exploring the concepts of the Chakras is a life-long journey. But a little information and intention around our own Chakras can take each of us a long way along our own path of healing and self-exploration.





108 Ways to Heal Your Chakras.




Author: Ruth Lera 

Editor: Renée Picard 

Image: Wiki Commons 

Read 4 Comments and Reply

Read 4 comments and reply

Top Contributors Latest

Ruth Lera  |  Contribution: 35,510