February 17, 2016

A 15-Question Chakra Check-In to Keep us Attuned to our Intentions.

Personal Photo 1

How I Increased my Self-Awareness in the Year of Intention.

Every so often, I check in with myself to try to understand, holistically, how I’m really doing. This year, I set a goal to check in with myself more frequently, especially since 2016 had been coined the “year of intention.”

I went to assess my energetic state at my usual window-side table at Dr. Smood (a Wynwood spot for organic fare and my unofficial office), using the 15-Question Chakra Check-In I created. After reviewing my responses, I realized where I was at the moment and where I needed to be to reach the personal and professional goals I set for the new year.

I have listed the questions and my responses below. Give it a try—maybe you’ll like it, too!

(Note: These questions have no right answers. They are simply meant to increase your self-awareness as you continue following the intentions you set for 2016.)

First chakra, Muladhara, the root chakra.

The root chakra, which I call vitality, is responsible for our sense of safety and security. I checked in with this chakra by asking myself:

How’s my physical vitality?
What do I need more of to feel more grounded and secure?

This time around, I focused my attention on my health. My health is good, but I’ve been intending to feel at my physical best. So, I decided to up my workout routine to three times a week, rather than just two. (We’ll see if that makes a difference!)

Second chakra, Svadisthana, the chakra of creation.

The second chakra is the center of our passion. The projects, experiences and people that stimulate us creatively (and sexually) feed the energy of this chakra. I checked in with my second chakra by asking myself:

Am I fueling my creative passions?
What do I want to create, or bring into the world, in the next few months?

In my case, I’ve got my new company, Modern ŌM, which is massively stimulating my creativity. These questions made me realize that my second chakra might be too energized, and I’m good where I’m at.

Third chakra, Manipura, the chakra of willpower.

The third chakra drives our purpose, and is the source of the personal power we bring forth into the world. For this chakra check-in, I asked myself:

Do I have purpose in my work?
Do my personal habits support who I aspire to be?
What do I want to achieve in the world in the next few months?

Studies say that our willpower is strongest in the morning, and we gradually use it up over the course of the day. Because of that, I decided I should start the day powered up. So, I set an achievable goal for myself where I’d commit to getting up 15 minutes earlier than usual to do my morning Vedic meditation.

Fourth chakra, Anahata, the heart chakra.

The heart chakra is where the physical and spiritual components of our being meet. It relates to compassion, gratitude and universal love; this love is directed both inward and outward—no strings attached. To check if this chakra was in balance, I asked myself:

Do I feel that I am open to receiving love?
What do I plan on doing to cultivate love in my relationships in the next few months?

This check-in feels important to me. It takes space to fill the heart chakra. After asking myself those questions, I felt that I needed to spend more time with the people I love and make the most of our time together—especially my amazing mother, to whom I haven’t been very present lately.

Fifth chakra, Vishuddha, the throat chakra.

The throat chakra governs our expression and our ability to communicate. The ideas and messages we release into the world vibrate stronger when it is healthy. To check in with this chakra, I asked myself:

Do I feel like I’ve been speaking my truth lately?
Is there anything I wish to tell the world in the next few months?

Generally, I’m happy with my communication lately. I’m definitely expressive, and sincere. But after asking myself those questions, I realized I’m overcommitting lately. Although I have too much on my plate, the word, “Yes” comes too easily to me, which is something to think about.

Sixth chakra, Ajna, the third eye chakra.

The third eye is known as a universal symbol of wisdom, intuition and Insight. The more developed it becomes, the closer we are to understanding the world around us. For this chakra check-in, I asked myself:

Do I trust my intuition?
What would I like to know in the next few months?

I’ve been wearing my sixth chakra mala non-stop to stimulate my third eye. I always have the door open to more wisdom in my life.

Seventh chakra, Sahasrara, the crown chakra.

The crown chakra connects us to something more—whether we call it connection, bliss, the universe or some other word. To check in with this final chakra, I asked myself:

What place or activity makes me feel most at peace?
Do I take time for myself to recharge, relax and just be?

As an entrepreneur, I’ve wanted to find an activity that is personal and connects me to nature (and disconnects me from work). Happy to say, I’ve been taking kite-board lessons, and I think it might be the ticket.

In case you didn’t know, each of the seven chakras also has a unique identifying color, which we can use to remind ourselves of our intentions:

First Chakra—Vitality | red | the energy that springs from living in balance.

Second Chakra—Passion | orange | the rush as we lose ourselves in the moment.

Third Chakra—Purpose | yellow | the power within to achieve what we desire.

Fourth Chakra—Compassion | green | the love we share unconditionally with the world.

Fifth Chakra—Expression | blue | the voice that reveals the true and unique us.

Sixth Chakra—Insight | indigo | the ability to see the world as it truly is.

Seventh Chakra—Connection| violet | the joy of being present in the now.


Author: Myk Likhov

Editor: Toby Israel

Photo: Author’s Own


Read 4 Comments and Reply

Read 4 comments and reply

Top Contributors Latest

Myk Likhov