June 2, 2011

Flowing with Divine Energy: a guide to your 7 chakras. (eBooklet)

photo credit: flickr/omnos
Chakra translates to wheel in Sanskrit. There are seven main chakras at points along the spine and hundreds of others throughout the body. When the chakras are balanced and in alignment, energy is flowing, and you are healthy. If your chakras are blocked due to mental, emotional or spiritual disease, you may feel the effects as a physical ailment. The lower chakras have to do with grounding, physicality and stability. The upper chakras deal with expansion, compassion and insight. The heart center, at the center of the seven, is the connection between the upper and lower chakras.
We hope you will benefit from these resources on the chakras, brought to you by Yoga Freedom! Namaste. ♥

1st – Muladhara Chakra * STABILITY *

The first chakra is related to survival instincts and sense of grounding and connection to our bodies and the physical plane. When balanced, we feel secure and safe. When blocked, we may feel unstable and anxious. Blockage can also lead to weight problems, hemorrhoids, arthritis, knee problems and sciatica.
Element: EARTH
Chant: LAM
Color: RED
Quote: “The body never lies.”  ~Martha Graham
{Learn more about root chakra — Get to the root of the solution: heal your muladhara chakra.}

2nd – Svadhishthana Chakra* SEXUALITY *

The second chakra is related to emotions and sexuality. When balanced, this chakra brings us fluidity and grace, depth of feeling, sexual fulfillment and the ability to accept change. When out of balance, problems with sex drive and performance may occur, such as impotence, frigidity and bladder infections.
Element: WATER
Chant: VAM
Quote: “Sex is emotion in motion.”  ~Mae West
{Learn more about the 2nd chakra — The sacred sacral chakra: sexuality, sensuality, intimacy, desire, control, emotional expression.}

3rd – Manipura Chakra* SELF-ESTEEM *

The third chakra rules our personal power, will and autonomy, as well as our metabolism. When balanced, digestion and self-discipline are strong. When out of balance, stomach problems and weakness of will are possible, in addition to ulcers, diabetes, hypoglycemia and digestive disorders.
Element: FIRE
Chant: RAM
Quote: “Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one’s courage.”  ~Anaïs Nin
{Learn more about the 3rd chakra — Solar power: firing up core strength and self-discipline with manipura chakra.}

4th – Anahata Chakra*COMPASSION/SELF-LOVE *


The fourth chakra allows us to love deeply. When balanced, we feel compassion and have a deep sense of peace and centeredness. When out of balance, this chakra leads to bitterness, greed and thoughtlessness, as well as potential asthma, high blood pressure, heart disease and lung disease.
Element: AIR
Chant: YAM
Color: GREEN
Quote: “When you begin to touch your heart or let your heart be touched, you begin to discover that it’s bottomless.”  ~Pema Chodron
{Learn more about the heart chakra — A broken open heart: healing and connecting with anahata chakra.}

5th – Vishuddha Chakra*COMMUNICATION *

The fifth chakra is related to communication and creativity. When balanced, the throat chakra enables clear, easy communication, both verbal and non-verbal. When out of balance, blockages in this area can lead to problems with the throat and sinuses, including sore throat, colds, stiff neck, hearing problems and thyroid problems.
Element: SOUND
Chant: HAM
Quote: “If you tell the truth you don’t have to remember anything.”  ~Mark Twain
{Learn more about the throat chakra — Vishuddha chakra: find your voice with open communication and flowing creativity.}

6th – Ajna Chakra* INTUITION *

The sixth chakra governs the act of seeing, both physically and intuitively. When balanced, thinking is clear and intuition is strong. When out of balance, one feels disconnected from their intuition or “gut” feelings. Blindness, eye strain, blurred vision, headaches and nightmares can also occur.
Element: LIGHT
Chant: AUM
Quote: “Trust yourself.  You know more than you think you do.”  ~Benjamin Spock
{Learn more about the third eye — Get intuit: inspiration and intelligence at ajna (third eye) chakra.}

7th – Sahasrara Chakra* CONNECTION/UNION *


When developed, the seventh chakra brings us knowledge, wisdom, understanding, spiritual connection and bliss. When out of balance, there may be an inability to learn, confusion, apathy, alienation, depression and/or boredom.
Element: THOUGHT
Chant: AH
Quote: Before enlightenment – chop wood, carry water. After enlightenment – chop wood, carry water.  ~Zen Proverb
{Learn more about the crown chakra — Crowning achievements: awakening via sahasrara chakra.}

Read 20 Comments and Reply

Read 20 comments and reply

Top Contributors Latest

Michelle Margaret Fajkus  |  Contribution: 56,495